Wednesday 23 Jul
 
 

Food briefs: You’re toast, er, pretzel

There’s a new food truck on the scene.
07/22/2014 | Comments 0

Upward mobility

Locals can have fresh microgreens and herbs for cooking in a new and convenient way. Microgreens, a chef favorite, are petite vegetable greens that add color, nutrition and flavor to dishes.
07/23/2014 | Comments 0

Vietnamese comfort food

I’ve always had a love affair with the refreshing, healthy cuisine of Vietnam. I love the fragrances, the fresh herbs, cilantro, basil, mint and other Asian herbs: perilla, Vietnamese coriander and sawtooth cilantro. And I love the contrast and balance in almost every dish: spicy vs. cool, salty vs. sweet and steamed vs. crispy.
07/16/2014 | Comments 0

OKG eat: Cool places, cooler drinks

We know. It’s hot. It’s summer in Oklahoma. Cool down by sampling cocktails that local bars and restaurants have concocted just for you. Find a nice, air conditioned space or a shaded patio and while away the hours drinking the flavors of summer. You might decide it’s not that bad after all.

— by Devon Green, photos by Mark Hancock, Shannon Cornman and Lauren Hamilton

07/23/2014 | Comments 0

New kids on the block

There are a wealth of new local eateries cropping up in the metro and even more coming. If they’re not on your radar, they should be. From the comfy atmosphere at The Barrel on Western Avenue to the laid-back vibe at the Plaza District’s coffee shop, you might find a new regular hangout.

— by Devon Green, photos by Mark Hancock and Shannon Cornman

07/16/2014 | Comments 0

OKG Eat

Ah, the perils of working with special dietary needs. It can make dining out a pain. Luckily, with restaurateurs becoming more savvy to their diners’ needs, there are a bevy of places in OKC to satisfy your craving for the foods you love without losing taste. All choices this week have been road-tested by gluten-sensitive foodies to guarantee satisfaction.
07/09/2014 | Comments 0
Home · Articles · Food · Restaurant Reviews
Restaurant Reviews
 
Top Articles from Restaurant Reviews

No gyros allowed

This Mediterranean cafe leaves the gyro stereotype at the door, and off its menu.


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell
Don’t tell the gyro I said this, but sometimes I don’t want a gyro.
 
Wednesday, February 5, 2014

House party

There’s a multitude of reasons to love The Park House at the Myriad Gardens.


Restaurant Reviews

Kevan Goff-Parker
The Park House, the much-awaited contemporary American cuisine restaurant on the eastern edge of the Myriad Botanical Gardens, opened in mid-December. Foodies and families out for fun haven’t been the same since.
 
Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Traffic pattern

Hunger finds a delicious landing at Annie Okie's Runway Cafe with club sandwiches, hearty breakfasts and more.


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell

Annie Okie’s Runway Cafe

5915 Phillip J. Rhoads Ave.

787-7732

What worked: Breakfast is strong, especially the omelets.

What needs work: The burger’s pretty boring, and the dinners seem like they’re just sandwiches without the bread.

Tips: Sit in the atrium if you want to watch the planes.

 
Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Greasy spoon greatness

Sometimes a diner is just a diner. A good ol’ hole-in-the-wall can still serve up perfect breakfasts as well as burgers.


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell
We have fooled ourselves, we foodie hipsters. We have bought into this idea that every hole-in-the-wall is a gem merely waiting for us to polish it. And then we can shine it in the eyes of our foodie friends and say, “Oh, you haven’t been there? I’m not surprised.”
 
Wednesday, January 22, 2014

On top of Ol’ Gyro

Forget the golden arches and head for the land of the Golden Fleece.


Restaurant Reviews

Louis Fowler

Ol’ Gyro Mediterranean Cuisine

3513 N. Classen Blvd 

606-2266


What works: A quick and easy lunch at a low price.

What needs work: The menu is a little thin.

Tips: Ask for extra garlic sauce — in a bucket, if possible.

 
Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Seoul food

Spicy barbecue and bold flavors welcome fresh flavor from the Korean peninsula.


Restaurant Reviews

Doug Hill

Dong-A Korean Restaurant

1262 N. Eastern Ave., Moore

237-1002

What worked: Made-to-order dishes from family recipes.

What needs work: Substitute Korean pop music for the big-screen TV.     

The Tip: This is the place to go for Korean cuisine on the south side.         

 
Wednesday, January 15, 2014

American luxury

Packard’s American Kitchen showcases the art of handcrafted fare, from duck mac and cheese to juicy rib-eye hamburgers.


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell
Winners never quit. Even if they start out by losing a bit. Packard’s New American Kitchen, 201 NW 10th St., had to endure an early losing streak. The menu seemed ambitious and different, but like so many restaurants, it took time for the food and the service to meet the high expectations of the customers.
 
Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Let’s talk turkey

Finding turkey burgers, even in this meat-loving town, isn’t easy, but they add variety to any restaurant’s beefy menu.


Restaurant Reviews

Ken Langston
It’s no secret: Oklahoma City loves beef, and there is nothing quite like a great steak or burger. However, some people choose not to eat red meat for health or dietary reasons.
 
Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Golden god

Take your time picking a menu item you like — there’s plenty to choose from.


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell
Golden Phoenix, 2728 N. Classen Blvd., has a menu that requires time, patience and a spirit of adventure. Not that you have to try Top Snail with Coconut Juice ($8.95), but it’s there if you want to.
 
Monday, December 23, 2013

Noble nosh

The way of the Samurai is to prepare simple but solid sushi that will have you roll back for more.


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell
Never doubt the power of one bad meal. I visited Samurai (1630 NW 23rd St.) when it opened a few years ago and did not feel the need to return. The sushi was not good. I remember the tempura batter being sharp. Like, it hurt my mouth to eat.
 
Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Pollo outlet

El Pollo Chulo’s chicken is so tasty, it’s pimp, yo!


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell
Depending on who you trust, El Pollo Chulo could have several meanings. Google decided it means “The Pimp Chicken,” and if I’m being completely honest, this is the definition I want to believe is true..
 
Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Premium rush

With the addition of one sweet store, Classen Curve just got candy-coated.


Restaurant Reviews


With the Classen Curve store’s recent opening, married owners Carolyn and Gary Goldman have one goal: to sell delicious, delectable confections to sugar fiends of all ages.
 
Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Miracle on Classen Boulevard

Inside Casa De Los Milagros’ inviting palatial exterior are the wonders of well-prepared Tex-Mex cuisine.


Restaurant Reviews

Doug Hill

Casa De Los Milagros Mexican Restaurant and Cantina 

5111 N. Classen Blvd.

286-9809


What worked: pretty much everything

What needs work: Borracho beans had an unpleasant flavor.

The Tip: The salsa is real. It’s spiked liberally with jalapeño and fresh cilantro. 

 
Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Louie Louie

It’s a boisterous sports bar that wants to be your friend. With several locations, that’s easy.


Restaurant Reviews

Doug Hill
 Grabbing lunch at the Norman location of Louie’s Grill & Bar on a University of Oklahoma football game day right before halftime was not as crackers as you might expect. 
 
Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Drum right

No offense to the Okarche economy, but great fried chicken can be found right here in the metro, at The Drum Room.


Restaurant Reviews

Greg Elwell
If you think the only way to get good fried chicken is by driving 45 minutes to the west, I have good news.
 
Wednesday, December 4, 2013
 
Close
Close
Close