Friday 11 Jul
 
 

Next big thing

As far as songs go, few prove as challenging to sing as our national anthem.

It’s a technically demanding tune from first note to last, to be sure, beginning with a low bellow that quickly soars toward star-punching high notes, eventually swelling to a show-stopping crescendo that even the most seasoned performer can have trouble mastering.

07/09/2014 | Comments 0

Sheriff Woody

Woody Guthrie Folk Festival featuring Jimmy LaFave, Arlo Guthrie and more

Wednesday through Sunday

Okemah

woodyguthrie.com

Free

07/09/2014 | Comments 0

California dreamin’

Modern Pantheist with The Wurly Birds and Larry Chin

9 p.m. Sunday

Blue Note Lounge 

2408 N. Robinson Ave.

thebluenotelounge.com

600-1166

$5

07/02/2014 | Comments 0

Major League tunes

Chipper Jones with The Hitt Boyz, Foxburrows and Milk Jr

8 p.m. Saturday

VZD’s Restaurant & Club

4200 N. Western Ave.

vzds.com

524-4200

07/02/2014 | Comments 0

Neon colors

Utah-based rockers Neon Trees spent a hot summer night setting fire to Tulsa’s legendary Cain’s Ballroom on June 19. Rounding out the aural palette were Smallpools, a lively L.A. powerhouse, and Nightmare and the Cat, a cadre of black-clad Brit/American alt-rockers. Neon Trees’ latest record, Pop Psychology, was the night’s flux capacitor, transporting all who were willing to a neon-soaked parallel universe.
06/25/2014 | Comments 0
Home · Articles · Reviews · Rock
Rock
 

Angels & Airwaves - I-Empire

 
Thursday, January 17, 2008

So Far Good - Self Titled

 
Thursday, January 10, 2008

Bloodsimple - Red Harvest

 
Thursday, November 29, 2007

U2 - The Joshua Tree: Remastered

 
Thursday, November 15, 2007

Radiohead - In Rainbows

 
Thursday, October 25, 2007

Bruce Springsteen - Magic

 
Thursday, October 25, 2007

Puddle of Mudd - Famous

 
Thursday, October 18, 2007

Ha Ha Tonka - Buckle in the Bible Belt

 
Thursday, October 4, 2007

Somerset West - The New Ocean Sound EP

 
Thursday, September 20, 2007

Atreyu - Lead Sails Paper Anchor

 
Thursday, September 13, 2007

Forty Minutes Of Hell - Gimme Some Delay

 
Thursday, September 6, 2007

Every Time I Die - The Big Dirty

 
Thursday, September 6, 2007

VHS or Beta - Bring on the Comets

 
Thursday, August 30, 2007
 
Close
Close
Close